Citrus Guac & Superbowl adventures

Ah Superbowl. America’s favorite pastime and a general excuse to eat a sh*t ton of food and booze it up. We are an impressive people, it is true.

This past weekend I made the trip up to Los Angeles to see one of my besties from college who moved out here a yearish ago to go back to school. She was having a Superbowl party and seeing as I was in desperate need of some social interaction with other 20-somethings, the timing was faaaabulous. Well sort of. See I’m in the middle of a Whole 30 program. 30 days of straight up, wicked strict Paleo redonkulousness in hopes of completely “resetting” my system. I was pretty lenient on myself during the holidays, so once I got back to Cali after being home and then in Disney World for the 1/2 marathon, I decided to buckle down and get ‘er done. So besides the usual no grains/dairy/legumes that I generally stick to, I also cut out all sweeteners and alcohol…

I like to think my days as a lush are more or less behind me. College was basically 4 years of shenanigans in the form of Jose Cuervo mixed with powdered lemonade and water (I am NOT kidding here. Gaah. I just had a full-body convulsion remembering that…). Not saying I haven’t had a rough night or two since graduating, but I like to think I have my sh*t together a bit more than I used to. Anywho, I’m not drinking right now, and obviously the Superbowl party I went to was going to be a drinky drink situation and I was a weeeee bit nervous about it. I can honestly say I cannot remember a single social event where there was drinking that I wasn’t drinking too. That’s kind of ridiculous. I know. I can be an insanely outgoing person in the right situation (read: with enough alcohol in me), but naturally I get WICKED intimidated by big groups where I don’t know many people. Cue this weekends Superbowl party… I knew 2 people. Out of 50. My worst nightmare. Honestly though, it didn’t suck. In fact, it was a blast (minus the fact that the Pats lost. My New England heart broke a little).  The other great part? I woke up the next morning and didn’t feel like sh*t! Woo hoo!! Instead, I drank like 15 effing cans of seltzer water that night and mowed face on the Pineapple BBQ Pulled Pork I brought (my faaave recipe from George the Civilized Caveman, it was a huuuge hit) plus some BOMB dot com Citrus Guac I threw together and brought too. I had to pee like 20 times that night, and I definitely ate waaay to many friggin’ mixed nuts. Woof. That was bad. But overall, successful social interaction COMPLETE. Word.

Enjoy the GUAC homies.

I just like saying that… GUAC. GUAAAAC. GUUUUUUAC.

Ingredients:

4 Avocados

2 Tbls Garlic Powder

1 Tbls fresh Cilantro, Finely chopped

1 Lemon

1 Lime

2 Blood Oranges, peeled and chopped

  1. Scoop out all avocados into a medium bowl and mash with a fork. Some people like chunks of avo in their guac, I like it smooooooth.
  2. Add garlic powder and cilantro and stir.
  3. Zest both the lemon and the lime and add this to the avocado mixture.
  4. Juice both the lemon and the lime, and thoroughly stir.
  5. Now add the chopped blood orange and gently stir. You want the pieces to get incorporated, but not get all mushed up. Biting into a chunk of the orange is like a party in yo’ mouf.
Leave a Reply

