Granny’s Country Turkey Sausage

I have no idea why I’m calling this recipe by that name. Honestly, it has nothing to do with my grandmother. She’s never made these. She doesn’t even live in the country, she lives in Cranston, Rhode Island. But for some reason I feel compelled to call them Granny’s Country Turkey Sausage. Maybe it’s the combination of apple and sage that makes me think of coveralls and clucking chickens. Or maybe I’m just losing my mind. Totally viable option.

While we’re on the topic of Granny’s, let’s just discuss MY Granny for a second. I don’t call her Granny actually, she’s “Grammy” or “Grams”. This woman is one bada$$ mamma-jamma. Seriously. She kicks butt. Let’s start with the fact that she’s 85 and just last year was helping us garden on the freakin’ vertical incline hill at the lake house. My thighs and my a$$ were killing me and I was whining about how I hate how the dirt slides down the hill and gets in your shoes and makes your feet feel all funny. Not Grammy. She just trucked along all day digging holes and putting down myrtle, not a care in the world. She makes the whole family look like total pansies.

But recently we had a health scare (ok, two) with Grams. First, a couple years ago she was diagnosed with breast cancer. Did that stop her? No friggin’ way dudes. She went through with the surgery, was laid up in bed for a little bit, but bounced back like the freakin’ fighting Irish. But at the end of December we got news that she had a large tumor in her colon as well as potential spots on her liver. Needless to say, we all FREAKED THE EFF out. I mean, this is Grammy. She’s the glue. The eternal optimist. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday because of this woman. The whole freakin’ loony-bin of a family rallies at her house in RI for the weekend, where she manages to orchestrate multiple amazing meals while housing the out-of-towners in the same house that my dad grew up in, where she now lives alone. She is a rockstar. And colon cancer SOUNDS FREAKING SCARY. Let it suffice to say that she had the surgery a week ago today, and to everyone surprise (well not really since her track record of a$$ kicking is pretty rockin’) she is already being moved to the Physical Therapy unit WAAAAY ahead of schedule. The day after her surgery she was sitting up on her own and jabbering away to visitors. A day or two after that she was up walking and cruising around the hospital. She is un-freakin-believable. She inspires me so much and the only thing I can think to say is how proud of her I am. Most people at the age of 85 might have said something stupid like “eh, what’s the point.” Grams is way too jazzed on life to let anything slip by her. Her optimism and perseverance impress me to no end. I am so ridiculously thankful to have her in my life, and I’m so proud of her for (yet again) telling cancer to screw off. And to all of my family back on the east coast, I want to get serious for a second here and say a HUGELY, ridiculously GINORMOUS “thank you” from the bottom of my heart for making such a huge effort to keep me updated on all the goings-on, and also for making it possible  for me to Skype with Grammy recently. I miss you guys like crazy, and it was really hard being away during this ordeal, but I couldn’t have asked for a better a better group of people to be surrounding our Grammy! LOVE YOU GUYS TO DA FREAKIN’ MOOOOOON!

I said freakin’ a lot there, huh? Ok enough of that. On to the food!

Granny’s Country Turkey Sausage:

Ingredients:

2 lbs Ground Turkey

1Tbls dried Sage

1.5 tsp Fennel

1 large apple, peeled & grated

Approx. 2Tbls coconut oil (enough to replenish the fry pan for each patty)

Directions: 

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl, making sure to incorporate all ingredients throughout the meat.
  2. Form into 2oz patties, and be sure to sort of flatten them out so that they cook evenly.
  3. Heat skillet over medium heat with approx 1tsp coconut oil per 4 patties.
  4. Cook patties thoroughly, approximately 2-3mins per side.
  5. This makes around 16ish patties, which may sound ridiculous, but you can wrap up half the batch and store in the freezer. Cha ching!
Leave a Reply

