Roasted Red Pepper Soupalicious & Cafe whore-ing

I am such a coffee shop whore. Honestly, it’s a little ridiculous. I used to think that I always wanted to be a “regular” at one coffee shop where all the baristas knew me and my order, and would ask me about life and we’d be bff’s, and they’d want to give me free americanos ‘cuz I tip so well. #ballerrrr But I’ve come to the conclusion that I, along with my human-relationship-commitment-aversion (to be discussed at a later date), I also have a coffee-shop-relationship-commitment-aversion too. I neeeed variety when it comes to my regular slutting about with cafes.

I currently have four coffee shop relationships at this time. They don’t know about each other, and it’s probably better to keep it that way. No need for things to get messy. See each one is for a different, um, “need” if you will. This is starting to sound risque, so let me explain.

The Lofty Bean: My original Cali coffee shop lover. The first week I was out here I tried this place out and fell head over heels. This is my “it’s meant to be” coffee shop. They are a Paleogirls dream cafe. Coconut milk, grain free goodies, and all organic. Honestly, what more could I ask for? Lofty is my go-to for my a.m. Americano, or when I desperately need a paleo-approved goodie (versus baking a WHOLE batch of cookies etc and eating them for a whole week all at once…). The ridiculously energetic girls who work there are freakin’ hysterical too, they know my order and we talk paleolife and tattoo dreams. Siiigh, it’s love.

Pannikin: For when I need to detach myself from my Mac book and be a for-real-with-pages-book bookworm. Pannikin doesn’t have wifi (shock! horror!) and they have a ton of outdoor seating in the freakin fabulous Cali sunshine. They have theeee bestest looseleaf tea selection, and I spent a bunch of afternoons here during my Whole 30 when I wasn’t doing coffee and treats… This was when Lofty and I were “on a break”, a la Rachel & Ross.

It’s A Grind: Surfer dudes GALORE here. This is when I need eye candy with my coffee. That’s rude, it’s not nice to just be interested in someone for looks. C’mon Emily, how SHALLOW of you. Psshh whatevs. Dudes are hotties, just comin’ in from catchin some waves and I LIKE IT. Coffees okay too.

Vinaka: For blog writing. Inspiration abounds in this cutey-patooty locale. There’s a huuuuge variety of people who chill out here. But my favorites? The group of 6 plus old guys who get all jazzed up playing game after game of chess. Friggin adorable. Except for the 30 something Polish dude who has taken to playing with them and swears in Polish whenever he gets pissed off. He kicks most of the old dudes asses, and it kind of pisses me off, but the old guys don’t seem to mind.

I don’t know why I felt you needed to know I’m a coffee shop slut. Don’t judge me. Go eat some soup:

Roasted Red Pepper Soup:

  • 4 Red bell peppers
  • 1 Tbsp EVOO (approximately – for coating peppers)
  • 1 White onion, sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 c Chicken stock
  • 1 tsp Paprika
  1. Remove tops and seeds of the peppers and lightly coat the outside of each.
  2. Place on an aluminum foil lined baking sheet and put in the oven on broil. Broil peppers until skin begins to blister, turn as needed to get all sides.
  3. Once all sides are blistery-looking, pull out of the oven, place in a bowl and cover with plastic wrap.
  4. While the peppers a chillin’ out in their sauna, heat the coconut oil in a saute pan over medium heat.
  5. Add in the onions and saute until the begin to soften, and then add the garlic. Saute for another minute or so until the onions are translucent.
  6. When the peppers have been in the bowl for about 5-7 minutes, take them out and peel as much of the skin as you can off of each pepper. You may want to let them sit out for even longer to let them cool just a bit. Once peeled, slice the peppers into smaller portions.
  7. In a medium sauce pan over high heat, put in the peppers, onion, garlic and add the chicken stock and paprika. Bring liquid to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.
  8. Remove from heat and either let it cool and then blend in a food processor, or use an immersion blender and get it all smooooth and soupalicious. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

