Crockpot Beefy Carrrrnitas, for Lily

This weekend was nothing short of BOMBdotCOM peoples, let me tell you. Do you have those kind of friends who you might not be able to see really all that often, or you just kind of suck at calling people – like me – so you go a while without life updates… but it soooo doesn’t even matter, because when you get to hang out with them finally, it’s like NOTHING has ever changed, and no one cares that you don’t know every minute detail of the past couple months, and you don’t shut up the whole time you’re with them and they make you feel all Barney-the-big-purple-dinosaur-warm-and-fuzzy on the inside? Yea, me too, and one of them is named Lily.

Lily & I met back in college, she was actually the RA for the dorm wing I lived on my freshman year at UNH. Lily was a blessing of the highest sort for me my first year at school. To say I was a hott mess effing downright disaster would be an understatement. Lily dealt with my freshman year melt downs like a champ and inspired me to become an RA my junior year at school. As luck would have it, Lily came back into my life that same year when my friend randomly moved into the same off-campus house. While Lily & I have always had a blastyblast together whenever our group of girls gets together, we’ve never had solid just LilynLou Time. This weekend was well-timed epic awesomness.

To summarize, it consisted of:

  • Deciding at 9:30pm on Friday to drive the 45minutes into downtown SD for a night of potential shenanigans
  • Shenanigans ensue – including but not limited to finagling free drinks from a motivational speaker name Nathan, walking on to a party bus with its doors open just ‘cuz we were curious and chatting up the driver who was definitely drinking the mini fridge booze, staying up until 6am, rapping the only part of Drake’s “The Motto” that we know (“e’ry day, e’ry day, like we sittin’ on a bench, we don’t really play, e’ry day e’ry day”)  and rocking our outfits Saturday morning when we went to go pick up race packets for the run we had planned to do on Sunday. DearGodIlovebeing25.
  • Cooking a BEASTMODE dinner of salmon cakes, kale & onions, and sweet potato hash on Saturday night, as well as housing two bottles of wine while talking until Idon’tknowwheninthemorning.
  • Deciding at Idon’tknowwheninthemorning that there was no effing way we were getting up at 4:45am to go run the race.
  • Spending Sunday in Encinitas at the Self Realization Fellowship service and Swami’s garden, a quick trip to the farmer’s market and out for delish salads where we discussed the idea of, and I nearly decided to go get my nose pierced (I didn’t. Sad face.), all of this before the skies opened up and rain dumped down on SoCal as Lily hopped the train back up to LA.

My awky-ward Tree Pose in a skirt at Swami's Garden in Encinitas

It’s pretty unreal having the friends I do. The best & luckiest part, is that somehow whenever I most desperately need a dose of east coast love, it just works out that one of them will call “just because” or, like this weekend, I have the insane good fortune of actually getting to spend time with one of them. After a rough past couple of weeks, and with a potentially rough week ahead, this weekend and my Lily have filled my heart to the brim with happyhappyhappiness.

I made these beef carnitas before Lily came and we had ’em for lunch on Saturday. They got the Lily-stamp-of-approval, and I got threats of a dire nature if I did not post this recipe immediately after she left. So here you go my Lilian, I LOVES YOUS TO THE MOON N BACK AGAIN!

Meat in shredded form is always bestest

Crockpot Beef Carnitas

Grassfed Boneless Chuck Roast (I used one that was 1.5lbs – it was about 4 servings or so)

1Tbsp paprika

1tsp Chili powder

1tsp Unsweetened cocoa powder

1tsp Garlic powder

1/2tsp Oregano

1/2 tsp Cinnamon

1 Onion, halved & sliced

1 can Tomato paste

1/4c Lime juice

2Tbsp Chipotle sauce (*optional …the “natural flavors” probably make this NotSoPaleo, and there’s sugar so it’s definitely not Whole30 approved… your call peoples!)

  1. Mix dry spices together in a small bowl. Rub the chuck roast with the mixed spices and wrap in saran wrap. Let this refrigerate for at least 2hrs, but overnight will get great results.
  2. Layer the onions in the bottom of the crockpot and add the tomato paste, lime juice and chipotle sauce (if using). Mix this up inside the crockpot.
  3. Unwrap the roast and place on top of onion mixture. Set the crockpot on low and let it go for 7.5hrs (omgilovecrockpots!)
  4. Once it’s done, take two forks and just start shredding the beef in the crockpot. Once it’s all shredded, just stir it up with the oniony mixture and then proceed to MOW FACE on the deliciousness. Avocado is required if you ask me. Then again I put guac-nuts on e’rythang.
Leave a Reply

