Veggie Herb Egg Bake

20120412-201045.jpg

Omahgahd, I LAAAAAV eggs. Fuh seeerious people, deez things ah like wicked awesome and I sweah to GAWD this recipe is tah freakin die four! I’m working on my Boston accent, as I sit in the San Diego airport waiting for my flight HOOOOOOME!!! How excited am I..?? THHHHIIIIIIIIIIIISSSSSSS EXCIIIIIIIITED!!!!!!!!! Translation: a whole EFING LOT, thank you very much. So I’m not really going home-home, like to New Hampshire, but I’ll be in Boston for one of my besties baby shower and then Rhode Island to see my grams! Regardless, I get to see some people I have been missing desperately.
I love Boston accents. Truthfully, i am fully aware it is one of the ugliest accents Americans can have, but I love it the way you love an old ratty t-shirt from back in your high school days: it’s probably really gross, and honestly shouldn’t be out in public, but it gives you the warmnfuzzies and makes you feel at home.
Airport food BLOWS. I just searched the entire terminal for something “green”, read: an effing salad that isn’t entirely iceberg lettuce, and once I found it I stood over a trash ridding it of the grossies: canned mandarin oranges, slimy feta cheese and whoknowshowmuchsugarinfested “dressing”. I then exiled myself to a corner and opened up the can of sardines in tomato sauce (YUP, I brought sardines to the airport bitchaas) from my backpack and dumped in on the greenies. Not too bad honestly. I obviously won’t be making any airport friends with my freakish food choices, but hey, I’ve eaten and I don’t feel like shit! Wahoooo!
Enjoy this faahking recipe doods, it’s wicked pissah guy. Oh be still my beating heart, you shall hear the real thing so soon.

Veggie Herb Egg Bake

– 10 eggs
– 2 Tbsp full fat coconut milk
– 1 sweet onion, finely diced
– 1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
– 5 asparagus stalks, chopped
– 1/2c chopped tomato
– 1Tbsp coconut oil, plus extra for greasing baking dish
– 2 tsp fresh chopped rosemary
– 1 Tbsp fresh chopped parsley
– 1 Tbsp fresh chopped basil

1. Preheat oven to 350, grease 10in baking dish.
In a large mixing bowl, beat eggs and coconut milk together.
2. Heat tablespoon of coconut oil over medium heat. Add onion, pepper, asparagus and sauté until onions are translucent (about 5 minutes).
3. Add in tomatoes and fresh herbs, mix in with other veggies for one minute.
4. Remove veggies and herbs from heat and add to egg/coconut milk mixture, stir to fully incorporate.
5. Carefully pour eggs/veggie mix into baking dish and place in the oven.
6. Bake for approximately 40mins, until the middle of the egg bake is firm and no longer grossly eggsquishyish.
7. Consume with vigor. Preferably with guac nuts. NOM.

Leave a Reply

